Museums of Minnesota  
Search  
 
 

Museums of Minnesota

Museums of Minnesota

Historic Cahill School
Tupa Park, Highway 100 and Eden Avenue Edina, MN 55424
Phone: 612-928-4577
Bookmark and Share

Opening Times:

Flexible depending on your group's needa, The scheduler works with the visiting teacher to plan a time frame that adapts to the needs of the guest class. The most popular visiting times are 9:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. and 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Description:

Built in 1864, Cahill School is the oldest standing building in Edina and served School District No. 16 in southwest Edina. The original site of Cahill School was on the southeast corner of Cahill Road and West 70th Street. The one-room schoolhouse served as a community center for the Cahill District. In addition to daily classes the school was used for church services, village elections, dances, theatricals, and other events.

Even after the residential neighborhoods of Morningside and the Country Club got modern schools (Wooddale School and Morningside School) in the 1920s, Edina farm kids continued to attend the one-room schoolhouse with its outhouse for a bathroom and old wood stove for heat.

Things changed, however, when John McCauley brought his young wife from Chicago to the family’s old homestead in southwest Edina in the 1950s. Accustomed to city schools and indoor plumbing, John was astonished to find that his daughter attended the same one-room school as his father had in the 19th century. It was, he says, “like going back in time.” The McCauleys set out to bring things up to date, starting with indoor plumbing. In continuous classroom use for more than 94 years, Cahill School closed in 1958. It was restored in 1969 and moved to its current site at Frank Tupa Park, where it is open for school field trips and related programs during most of the year.

School field trips are offered September through May at Edina’s historic Cahill School and adjacent Grange Hall. Students travel back in time and, with the help of a costumed schoolmarm, experience a typical 1900 day in a one-room schoolhouse. Children experience history by living it – answering the call of the schoolmarm’s hand-rung bell, entering through either boys’ or girls’ doors and hanging up outerwear in the cloak room, sitting in old wooden desks, using slate boards, looking through school books of the period and playing old-fashioned games.
 
A trip to Cahill School also includes a visit to the adjacent Minnehaha Grange Hall, where students eat lunch. Built in 1879, and restored to the year 1935, the Grange Hall is a building where the Grange, a farming society, met. Also serving as a town hall, it hosted many community gatherings.

Both buildings are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Make a Donation Museums of Minnesota is a co-production of
TPT MN (Twin Cities Public Television (MN))
and Back on the Mississippi, LLC.
© Back On The Mississippi, LLC - All Rights Reserved • 4769 Hauge Circle, Eagan, MN 55122
Know of a hidden treasure in Minnesota? Tel: (651)-686-0041 • Fax: (651)-452-3588
Twin Cities Public Television | Minnesota Channel Back on the Mississippi